top of page

Afro magic in Bluebell Wood!

Managed to get an hour or so of flying in over at Dingley on Sunday, testing the newly installed 'Afro' SimonK esc's. I have to say these are real gems, removing another 'nerd' element from the food chain. As an example, the T-Motor esc's I replaced, cost about £25 each from a 'reputable' multi-rotor dealer, and they gave the CX4 a nasty 'wobble', or oscillation. The Afro's cost less than £10 each from HK, and the flight pattern is smooth. Well, see from the footage! Obviously the gimbal soaks up any unwanted movement, as it should, but I couldn't replicate those oscillations at all, even in a rapid descent, smooth as silk. :-)

I must say, spending a little bit more on decent gear has paid off. I know T-motor props are expensive, compared even to Elektroprops (that I have been using almost exclusively up to now) but better motors and props lead to very low vibration, which leads in turn to smoother footage. Just don't fly too close to the trees!!

BTW my flying activities attracted a few enquisitive onlookers, it transpired one chap had written and published a book entitled 'The Synchronicity Factor', which apparently features a flying machine plucked from the depths of his imagination, looking remarkably similar to my quad! The main difference being that his invention is capable of taking a man aloft.

Amazing the folk you meet in woods..

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page