top of page

A funny thing happened on the way to the forum...

I enjoy a good forum. I've been a member on several over the last few years, whiled away many a happy hour bantering with like minded folk, and chums. Probably, posted a few thousand threads out there somewhere.....

But, I've never run one of my own, that is until a couple of days ago! It happened out of the blue really, I'd begun to feel that the forum I frequent most regularly had started to slip towards ways that I felt weren't to my liking, so, I voted with my feet and started my own!

What do I know about running forums? 'Bugger all', is the short answer, but deep inside, I felt an urge, which had to be answered. There are no shortage of free BB hosting providers out there, and I hooked up with the first that appealed, 'Proboards' (https://freeforums.net/) seemed to fit the bill, as it was easy peasy to get started. The hardest thing was settling on a name for my fledgling forum, so after much thought, I decided upon 'Scratchbuilders', or The Scratchbuilders Guide to the Galaxy' to give it its full title ( a nod to an inspirational work)!

That done, I then set upon adding categories and 'boards' that prospective members could populate with their inspirational designs and builds. I personally think that a forum like this is well overdue, and I would be happy with a steady trickle of input to keep it ticking over.

To be honest, I have no idea what to expect, no preconceptions, nothing. But, I am fascinated by this sort of thing, and really hope I can publicise it on the wider internet at large. I've even sent a personal invite to David (Mr tri) Windestål himslef, but we'll have to wait and see about that.

Here's the url, and I'd appreciate it sooooo much if you would take the time to have a gander, maybe even join up, have a chat, shoot the breeze whatever! I asume that if you are reading this, you are in some way interested in the building of model 'whatever's' be they planes, cars, bikes, boats, rockets etc etc, so hopefully, in the months to come, we'll have a ball.

http://thescratchbuildersguidetothegalaxy.club/

As I say, do come and take a look, it's all free and friendly, caters for all levels of expertise from total novice to sickeningly talented (not me I'm afraid) and all stations between.

Adios

Andy


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page