top of page

Addiction therapy, or can one have too many model aircraft?

It was a fine day, so I decided to cart all my models down form the 'hanger' and assemble them for a bit of a photo shoot!

It was whilst grappling with my cumbersome ASW 28 glider (which has something like a 100" wingspan) that I realised that maybe these things had become an addiction.

I started to speculate about reducing my stock, and set about a kind of mental 'balloon debate' attempting to justify each one in turn, until I came to the conclusion that I would be hard pressed to chose which one I would be happy to part with.

14964819004_7453d044fa_k.jpg

Here they all are, from left to right:

Spektrum DX8 Tx, home designed built Wasp! 250, Droidwoorx CX4, Xugong-10 foldable quad, Taranis Tx with EasyUHF module, various lipo's, DJI clone 550 Hexa, Gaui 425 (500 size) heli, ASW-28 98" wingspan glider

15398945109_6f2f06fc24_k.jpg

My little home build, well what can I say? How could I sell that? Particularly as I'd lost the prototype in a flyaway, all the work I've put into it. Then my flagship CX4, a magnificent airframe of aerospace carbon, and solid Wookong M flight controller, no couldn't part with that!

Moving along, I came to the Xugong foldable quad, with the 2 axis gimbal I'd made from scrap metal and cheapo components from ebay, it's beauty is in its foldable design, which means I can throw it in a backback with the Taranis Tx and a few lipo's and goggles, and carry it virtually anywhere, and it did stirling work in Suffolk this year.

So could I part with the hexa? Ahem, I think not, since I have just returned from a couple of flights over at Dingley way, with the new 5000 mAh Zippy compact lipo's being tested out over the fields and treetops, it's soooo much fun, with plenty of power. 15 minutes of flight time at least.

So, maybe I could dispense with the Gaui? What? No helicopter in the stable? Unthinkable, especially as I've just added the Naza H flight controller, could I bear to part with it?

Well, the only one left is the still as yet unflown ASW-28 98" span glider, complete with Gaurdian stabiliser onboard. I suppose I could sell her, but then I'd never know if she were as difficult to fly as I often speculated, being a hotliner and all! So parting with this bird would be doing it a huge injustice, maybe, just maybe, after I've maidened her, one fine summer's day?

14964820944_43744ea58d_k.jpg

Then, if she flies well, it would make it even harder to part with her, so after this brief and speculative elimination process, I guess the jury will have to retire to consider its verdict, maybe!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page