top of page

Flying again!

Sunday was a blinder! I managed a couple of flights of the Gaui 425 heli, and my old faithful CX4, both flew beautifully, massive fun in the sun. :-)

It can be difficult sometimes moving from one platform to another though, for instance, I'm in the habit of performing the stick 'csc' on landing the quads, to disable the motors, a kind of 'force of habit' or muscle memory. This is ok (if not strictly necessary), but one must remember not to do the same with a heli! I brought her down safely, but whilst the motor was spooling down, muscle memory kicked in, and before I knew it I'd flipped her onto her side with a whump! Blades into the soft grass. Damn!

Still, I consoled myself with the fact that there was no apparent damage, and lifted her into the air again to check. Seemed ok, gyro needs a little adjustment, as it seemed a little sensitive, but ok. That's when she autorotated from 4 or 5 feet! The lipo had puffed.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page