top of page

The importance of not losing your models in earnest!

I had a bad weekend, at least in terms of my model aircraft flying activities. I managed to lose my Wasp quad, partly due to pilot error, (or unwise flying area) and part loss of video signal to the goggles.

Anyhow, whilst attempting to find the downed model, I mused about the possibilities of using technology to recover lost model aircraft (or anything else come to that) and so the 'Black Box' idea was born. I've thrown down the gauntlet on a forum I visit from time to time, and have received some positive comments and ideas (as well as some slightly less than helpfull ones too, but hey, that's forums for you).

The main protaganist is a new forum member (and so fairly un jaded/unsynical) and has spent a great deal of time making video games and solving technological issues, so hey, it's looking promising.

I really hope this idea takes off, it's obviously not a new concept, there are devices out there ranging from bespoke UHF beacond for modellers, to lost falconry and avalanche beacons, all seemingly doing a great job, but I can't see a one-box plug and play solution with smartphone app capable of what I forsee as the basic requirements, i.e GPS enabled, UHF broadcasting beacon type device, with additional info readable with a bluetooth enabled smartphone.

Whatch this space!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page